The Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 ASAIL awards. All nominees are listed below with the winners marked in bold.

The Beatrice Medicine Award for Best Monograph

The Beatrice Medicine Award for Best Published Essay

The Electa Quinney Award for Published Stories

The Carter Revard Legacy Award for Best Edited Collection

Call for 2023 Nominees

The form for 2023 nominations is also now open! If you know of a work published within the 2022 calendar year that you’d like to nominate for any of these prizes, please do so using the form on this page. Questions can be directed to Jeremy Carnes at